Non-identical DNS IP requirements for .CA domains

Hi guys,

Apologies if this topic isn’t categorized correctly - or if the admins would like to move it to somewhere more appropriate, but I couldn’t think of another spot to place this.

Here’s the issue I’ve run into that I think is a little unique and some users might be running into in the future:

I recently discovered that CIRA, which is the authority that manages .ca domain names for Canada, has a requirement that DNS servers pointing to a .ca domain must have two non-identical IP addresses.

Previously I was using CyberPanel as the DNS server, but right now because I’ve never done this before I’m trying to teach myself how to set up more than one IPv4 address on an AlmaLinux server, which I hope will allow me to continue using CyberPanel and get my .ca domains up and running again.

Does anyone have any experience or direction/advice to offer regarding this? This might be something to help out with for Canadian users in the future as well since non-identical DNS IPs are a requirement for Canadian domain names.

Thank you in advance! :slight_smile:

Sounds very weird never heard of this… Can you link source for this requirement?

Errr well I can’t find the specifications on CIRA.ca itself, but here’s an explanation from GoDaddy:

Nameserver requirements

• Must use: 2-6 Nameservers, unique IP address
  • Can use: Only one IPv4 per host, only one IPv6 per host
  • Cannot use: DNSSEC

This is news to me as well, I’m not sure when they instituted this policy.

So the requirements state that you can only use one IPv4 per server.

Easiest thing to do would be to just use a free secondary DNS provider, just Google and you’ll find a load of them. I haven’t used one for a while but from memory BuddyNS, Puck, 1984 and HE are all pretty good and simple to set up.

Yes, I just went ahead and purchased an extra IPv4 address, I just had to teach myself how to set it up on the VPS server.