How to enable remote access to mariadb sql

Hi There guys, i am new to cyberpanel so far its great. I am using it on a Vultr vps and works well and fast.

i was wondering how i go about access the mariadb database remotely. i have searched the internet for hours and made adjustments but still i cannot connect via mysql workbench.

FTP out of the box works create but cannot get the remote sql to work.

i want to be able to make changes on my local db on computer and the use mysql workbench to push changes to the remote cyberpanel sql database

any help would be great
thanks Matt

I have Heidi Sql set up, so I’ll try to write back with instructions later. Remind me if I don’t within a day or two. It wasn’t hard - just need to change a few settings in both cyberpanel and the config files via ssh. I had some issues with the login credentials, and first used the username and pw but now have it set to use the public/private ssh key, which is better anyway. Until then, you can use phpmyadmin with one click from CyberPanel.

Hi @nick.chomey , could you please post the instructions you followed? I’d like to know how to allow any remote IP to connect to mariadb on cyberpanel. At the moment I’ve only been able to allow a specific IP, but no wildcard like “*” or “0.0.0.0” or “0.0.0.0/0” seems to work well with the Remote Access option on Databases section of CyberPanel.

Thanks a lot

Thanks for the reminder. I dont have exact instructions written down, so give these ideas a try and let me know if it works or not.

1. nano /etc/mysql/mariadb.conf.d/50-server.cnf - Comment out the bind-address line (THIS DOESNT SEEM TO BE NECESSARY)
2. In CyberPanel, go to Databases->List databases->Select Database-> Manage Remote Access-> Set IP to % (or your IP address if it is static) Also not necessary
3. In CyberPanel, at Security->Firewall, create a new firewall rule to open port 3306