Modify Database Prefix

This is super frustrating that this still has not been addressed and I’m surprised more people are not up in arms about.

I have two different top level domain accounts that start with the same 4 letters so there automatically generated database prefix is the same. I host over 100+ sites in CP so this happens regularly.

If I delete one of those accounts entirely, it will delete ALL databases with that prefix, including the second account that is totally separate from the one I deleted.

This has happened multiple times and I’ve had to spend time restoring backups to remedy the issue.

Is there a way to get around this? I’ve looked but haven’t seen a solution.

Finally, are there plans to update CP in the future so we can avoid this problem altogether?

Thank you.