Are these resources enough for a VPS to host a site and mail server at the same time?

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to VPS Hosting and Hosting in general. I have recently purchased a VPS 2 plan from Hostinger which has 2 GB of RAM and 2 CPU cores.
I am currently hosting a NodeJS application on it and using ejs as my templating language for the front-end side. I didn’t install any Panel for managing the hosting, I am just running Nginx as a reverse proxy on Ubuntu 22.04.
My question is: are these resources enough for hosting both the site and the mail server or should I upgrade for a better plan? I want to use CyberPanel to manage the mail server to avoid the complexity of setting up the mail server. The site is not expected to have a lot of traffic, it is a student consulting company’s website. I want to have about 5-10 emails at most.

Thank you in advance for your time :slight_smile:

Cyberpanel might be overkill for just running a email server especially if you’re not using all of its other features.

Maybe try iRedMail.

In your case, I would opt for a common hosting plan from the hostinger itself as you mentioned.

This would already include hosting the website + professional emails with greater authority. :slight_smile:

Departing for a VPS, it is only good for specific needs of applications that no longer support running on common hosting or that have a reasonable number of traffic.

Starting for a VPS in order to meet this basic need, this will only bring you headache and unnecessary work. :slight_smile:

1 Like

That really depends have multiply clients that using vps services at my company with 2GB RAM and 2 CPU with a lot of traffic.
That could easy put 10 websites on it really depend also what they running.

Thank you for the suggestion. I will give it a try